Build vs. Buy>Upsell, Cross-sell & Personalization>Extended warranty & protection plans

Build or Buy Extended Warranty & Protection Plans on Shopify?

Written by Deploi EditorialReviewed by Martin Dejnicki, Director of SEO & AI SearchUpdated September 2026Pricing verified September 2026 (quote-based tiers excluded)

Extended warranty and protection plans are a BUY on Shopify when your products are durables with three-figure prices. A licensed provider carries the underwriting, the claims and the state compliance, installs free (verified Sep 2026), and pays you a revenue share on every plan sold. No merchant should build an insurance product. Below that price point, or on consumables, WAIT and spend the attention on returns and shipping protection instead.

Your profile — see how the verdict shifts

VerdictBUY a licensed protection-plan provider when AOV and category justify it · WAIT on low-priced or consumable catalogs
Buy score
7.6
Build score
2.4
Confidence
HighA protection plan is a regulated service contract, so the build lane is structurally closed to merchants; the only open questions are category fit and which provider. Provider fees are revenue-share deals not published on the listings, and most listings are young.
Reference scenario
$20M–$100M GMV · electronics, furniture or jewelry · three-figure AOV · single storefront
As of
September 2026

Decision at a Glance

Your profileVerdictWhy
Low-AOV or consumable categories (apparel, beauty, food)WAITNobody insures a T-shirt. Attach rates and plan prices are too small to cover the merchandising space and the support questions; put the effort into shipping protection and a clean returns flow instead.
Mid-AOV durables (small appliances, sporting goods, tools)DEPENDSAttach economics work when the plan price is meaningful against the item and customers keep the product for years. Run a 90-day pilot with one provider on your top SKUs before committing merchandising space.
High-AOV durables (electronics, furniture, jewelry, e-bikes)BUYThe core case: customers expect a plan offer, the merchant revenue share is meaningful per order, and a licensed provider carries underwriting, claims and state compliance you can't. Providers install free (verified Sep 2026).
Multi-brand retailers at high volumeBUYNegotiate the revenue share and the claims SLA; at volume the provider's fee structure is a contract conversation, not a listing price. Build only the attach UX and the claims handoff into your support stack.

What Extended warranty & protection plans Actually Drives

OutcomeImpactHow it works
Revenue — directHighEach plan sold adds a merchant revenue share on top of the order, at no inventory cost, on categories where customers already expect the offer.
Customer experienceMediumA clear plan offer and a fast claims path reassure buyers of expensive durables; a confusing widget or a slow claim lands on your support team.
Retention & LTVMediumA resolved claim brings the customer back to the store for the replacement or the next purchase, when the handoff is visible on the order.
Data & insightLowAttach rate by SKU is a useful merchandising signal, but claims and failure data stay with the provider unless the contract says otherwise.
Operational efficiencyMediumThe provider handles underwriting, claims and compliance; the merchant's only recurring job is the handoff between the customer and the provider.

Spend ceiling: Spend nothing on underwriting and little on the glue: the provider carries the plan, and the attach UX plus claims handoff should stay at or under $15,000 (Deploi estimate, illustrative).

What buying enables (top apps)

  • + Licensed coverage, underwriting and state compliance from day one
  • + Automated claims portals and, on some providers, shipping protection in the same install
  • + A merchant revenue share on every plan sold, with no inventory or reserve
  • + Attach widgets on PDP, cart and post-purchase, maintained by the provider

What building additionally unlocks

  • + Attach UX that matches your PDP and cart and loads as a theme block, not a global script
  • + Claim status in your own helpdesk and order timeline, so agents never need the provider's login
  • + Provider-agnostic glue that survives a switch in underwriter

Find Your Verdict in 3 Questions

  1. Is your typical order a durable good with a three-figure price and a multi-year life?

    Yes: Go to question 2.

    No: Your verdict: WAIT — attach economics don't work on low-priced or consumable products; spend on shipping protection or returns instead.

  2. Do you already run a warranty operation, with an obligor entity, reserves and state filings?

    Yes: Your verdict: CUSTOMIZE — keep your program and build the attach UX and claims handoff; a provider can still cover the states you don't.

    No: Go to question 3.

  3. Can your support team hand claims to a provider cleanly, with coverage visible on the order?

    Yes: Your verdict: BUY — pick a licensed provider, negotiate the revenue share, and pilot on your top SKUs for 90 days.

    No: Your verdict: BUY — but budget the claims-handoff glue first; a plan your agents can't see becomes a support problem.

The TCC Scorecard — 12 Dimensions

TCC — Total Cost of Capability: what it actually costs to have this capability over three years, whichever way you get it. Each dimension is scored 0–5 for both paths. How we score →

DimensionBuyBuildWhy
Cost
Acquisition & implementationProviders are free to install (verified Sep 2026) and set up in days; there is no merchant-built equivalent, because a protection plan needs an underwriter, an obligor and state filings behind it.
Recurring feesProviders take a share of each plan sold, negotiated per merchant and not published on the listings (verified Sep 2026); you earn the rest. A self-run warranty carries claims reserves and administration instead.
Maintenance & upgradesThe provider maintains the widget, the claims portal and the coverage terms; a home-grown service contract needs legal review whenever terms or states change.
Switching & exitPlans already sold stay with the provider that underwrote them, so switching means two providers servicing customers for years. That's a feature of insurance, not a lock-in trick.
Risk
Vendor riskA young App Store category: three of the four verified listings carry 19–26 reviews, one was rebranded and one was acquired (verified Sep 2026). Check who the obligor and underwriter are, not just the app.
Security & compliance surfaceService contracts are regulated state by state; the provider files, holds reserves and handles claims. A merchant selling its own extended warranty takes on all of that.
Platform-deprecation exposureAttach widgets live on the PDP and cart, which are theme surfaces; checkout placement needs Plus and checkout UI extensions. Providers built on Scripts had to migrate before Scripts stopped executing on 2026-06-30.
Value
Fit to requirementProviders cover accidental damage, extended terms and claims out of the box; the merchant-side gaps are usually attach UX in a custom theme and the claims handoff into support.
Time to marketDays for a provider; a compliant self-administered program takes legal and financial setup measured in months, before any code.
Performance & scaleWidget scripts add page weight on every PDP; ask for an app-block install rather than a global script injection, whichever provider you pick.
Data ownership & AI-readinessAttach rate and plan sales sync to your orders as line items, but claims history and product failure data stay with the provider; ask for a claims export in the contract.
Focus & opportunity costInsurance is somebody else's core business. Your dev time belongs on the attach UX and the claims handoff, not on underwriting.

The App Landscape

AppStatusPricingBest for
ExtendLive — flagged4.8★, 19 reviews; young listing; listed as Extend Shopper Operations after a rebrand from the Extend warranty appFree (verified Sep 2026); no plan tiers or per-plan revenue share shown on the listing, so the economics arrive in a negotiated agreementProduct protection plus shipping protection and claims automation from one provider
MulberryLive — flagged4.4★, 26 reviews; young listing; commission billed separately from the Shopify invoiceFree to install; a variable commission per warranty billed separately by Mulberry, amount not shown on the listing (verified Sep 2026)Accident coverage and extended warranties with automated claims at checkout
Clyde (Cover Genius)Live — flagged3.1★, 20 reviews; Cover Genius acquired Clyde; per-warranty fee billed separately and not disclosedFree to install; per-warranty fee billed by Cover Genius, amount not on the listing (verified Sep 2026)Merchants already working with Cover Genius across other insurance products
SeelLive4.9★, 268 reviews; listed as Seel Worry-Free Purchase; monetization not disclosed on the listingFree (verified Sep 2026); no revenue share or per-plan fee shown on the listingReturn and shipping assurance rather than product warranties

The Build Path

  • Provider + custom attach UX: Keep the provider's plans and claims, but render the offer as a theme block in your PDP and cart so it matches your design and loads without a global script.
  • Claims handoff into support: Webhook the provider's claim events into your helpdesk and order timeline so agents see coverage and claim status without a second login.
  • Not recommended: a self-administered warranty: Selling your own extended warranty makes you the obligor: state registrations, reserves, and claims administration. Only manufacturers with a warranty operation already in place should consider it.
Effort band
Provider setup is near zero; the attach-UX and claims-handoff glue runs an estimated $5,000–$15,000 (Deploi estimate, illustrative), at or under the $10–25K contact-form band
Typical timeline
Days for the provider; 2–4 weeks for custom attach UX and the helpdesk handoff (Deploi estimate, illustrative)
Maintenance, honestly
~15–20% of glue cost per year (Deploi estimate), call it $1,000–$3,000/yr (Deploi estimate, illustrative): theme-update QA on the attach block and webhook upkeep. The plans, the claims and the compliance stay the provider's to maintain.
What you own — and what you take on
You own: the attach UX, the plan SKUs as order line items, and the claims visibility inside your support stack. You take on: none of the underwriting, all of the merchandising discipline, and the contract terms on revenue share and claims exports.

3-Year Total Cost of Capability

Buy (app path)Build (custom path)
Year 0 (setup)$0–$2,000$5,000–$15,000
Years 1–3 (recurring)$0 subscription; revenue share on plans sold$3,000–$9,000 (maintenance)
3-year total≈$0–$2,000 net of revenue share≈$8,000–$24,000
Illustrative cumulative cost over 36 months$0$4k$9k$13k$17kMo 0Mo 12Mo 24Mo 36Buy (app path)Build (custom path)
Illustrative cumulative cost: the provider path carries no subscription; its cost is the revenue share on each plan sold, which the chart can't draw. The build line is the optional attach-UX and handoff glue, layered on the provider rather than replacing it.
  • All figures illustrative samples for the reference scenario — not quotes, not verified pricing.
  • App path: provider free to install; the merchant revenue share on plan sales is an offset, not priced here because providers don't publish it.
  • Build path: custom attach UX and claims handoff only; a self-administered warranty program is not priced because no merchant should attempt it.

What the Sticker Price Hides

On the buy path

  • Revenue share and claims fees aren't on the listings (verified Sep 2026); get the split, the claim SLA and the data export in the contract
  • Global widget scripts on every PDP add page weight; insist on an app-block install
  • Plans sold stay with the underwriter for their full term, so a provider switch means servicing two providers for years
  • Low attach on the wrong category still costs merchandising space and support questions

On the build path

  • A self-administered warranty makes you the obligor under state service-contract law
  • Claims reserves and administration are a finance function, not a sprint
  • ~$1,000–$3,000/yr upkeep on the attach block and webhooks (Deploi estimate, illustrative)

What Merchants Say

Merchants describe attach rates that looked fine until the claims experience became their support team's problem, with customers contacting the store rather than the provider.
community-reported (2026 research corpus)
The 1–2★ theme across warranty apps: slow or denied claims blamed on the merchant, and widgets that broke at a theme update without anyone noticing for weeks.
app-store 1–2★ review theme

If You Change Your Mind Later

If you bought and outgrow it

Plans already sold stay with the provider that underwrote them for their full term, so an exit means two providers servicing customers for a while, and your support team fielding both. New sales switch cleanly. Keep the claims export and the plan SKU history so the next provider can honor the handoff.

If you built and want out

The attach block and the helpdesk webhooks are yours and port to any provider, which is the point of keeping the glue separate from the plans. A self-administered program, if you ever ran one, can't simply exit: the obligations run until the last contract expires.

When This Answer Changes

We're watching for:

  • Shopify shipping any first-party protection-plan or warranty offer in checkout (none as of Sep 2026)
  • Consolidation among providers: Cover Genius already owns Clyde and Extend has rebranded (verified Sep 2026); an acquisition re-prices your revenue share
  • A provider crossing a few hundred reviews with Built for Shopify status, which would mature a category where most listings carry under 30 reviews (verified Sep 2026)

Verdict change log:

No changes since first publication (September 2026).

Common Questions

Can a Shopify merchant build its own extended warranty program?

A merchant shouldn't build its own extended warranty, because a protection plan is a regulated service contract: someone must be the obligor, hold reserves, file in the states that require it, and administer claims. Licensed providers such as Extend, Mulberry and Clyde carry all of that and are free to install (verified Sep 2026). Build only the attach UX and the claims handoff, an estimated $5,000–$15,000 (Deploi estimate, illustrative).

What do warranty apps cost on Shopify?

Warranty apps on Shopify are free to install and earn on each plan sold. Extend, Mulberry, Clyde and Seel all list free installs, with the commission billed separately by the provider and not published on the listings (verified Sep 2026). The merchant keeps a negotiated share of plan revenue. Get the split, the claims SLA and a data export written into the contract before launch.

When is an extended warranty offer worth adding to a Shopify store?

An extended warranty offer is worth adding when the product is a durable with a three-figure price and a multi-year life: electronics, furniture, jewelry, e-bikes, appliances. Below that, attach rates and plan prices are too small to justify the merchandising space and the support questions. Run a 90-day pilot with one provider on your top 20 SKUs and decide on attach rate and claim experience, not on the provider's pitch.

Your Next Steps

If you're going with BUY(matches your selected profile)

  1. Shortlist providers by who underwrites and who administers claims, not by the app listing
  2. Negotiate revenue share, claims SLA and a claims-data export before install
  3. Pilot on your top 20 SKUs for 90 days; measure attach rate and claim satisfaction
  4. Install as an app block, not a global script; check PDP speed before and after
  5. Wire claim status into your helpdesk so agents see coverage on the order

If you're going with WAIT

  1. Confirm AOV and product life don't support a plan; revisit when the catalog shifts to durables
  2. Put the effort into shipping protection and a clean returns flow instead
  3. Track warranty questions in support; a rising count is the re-decision trigger
  4. Diary a review when a new durable category launches

Official Docs & Sources

Official documentation linked for verification — our verdicts and estimates are our own.

Ready to add protection plans without becoming an insurer?

We'll help you pick the provider, negotiate the terms that matter, and build the attach UX and claims handoff that keep the experience yours. If your catalog doesn't support plans, we'll say so.

Contact us today

Ecommerce development at Deploi

Verdict scored for the reference scenario above. Estimates are not quotes; app pricing carries its verification date and gets re-verified quarterly. Full scoring anchors: see the TCC methodology.

Read how we score these decisions (the TCC Framework). No affiliate links, no paid placement — no app vendor pays to appear here.

No affiliate links. No paid placement. We make money building and integrating solutions — not on referral fees.