Build vs. Buy>ERP, Accounting & Integrations>FX exposure and treasury hedging

Build or Buy FX Exposure and Treasury Hedging on Shopify?

Written by Deploi EditorialReviewed by Martin Dejnicki, Director of SEO & AI SearchUpdated September 2026Pricing verified September 2026 (quote-based tiers excluded)

FX exposure and treasury hedging is a CUSTOMIZE: partner off-platform for the hedge, build the exposure view yourself. No Shopify app hedges currency risk, and Shopify Payments only converts at checkout for a 1.5% fee (verified Sep 2026). Kantox sells dynamic hedging to treasury teams, quote-based, with no Shopify integration. The report joining orders and payouts to a USD cost base runs $18,000 to $45,000 (Deploi estimate, illustrative).

Your profile — see how the verdict shifts

VerdictCUSTOMIZE (bank, broker or treasury platform for the hedge · custom reporting for the exposure)
Buy score
5.4
Build score
6.9
Confidence
HighRead Kantox's dynamic hedging page and Airwallex's own Shopify integration page on 2026-09-03, plus Shopify's international payments documentation. Kantox has no Shopify integration and sells to finance directors and treasury teams in travel, chemicals, pharma, logistics and fintech. Airwallex does publish Shopify App Store apps, and every one of them is a payment-collection or fraud product rather than a hedging product; its multi-currency wallet gives a natural hedge by holding balances, not a forward contract. Shopify's help page shows the conversion formula and the 1.5% fee and never mentions hedging, forwards or exposure at all. So the hedging instrument is bought off-platform and the exposure measurement has no product on either side.
Reference scenario
$20M–$100M GMV · roughly a third of revenue billed in GBP and EUR · Shopify Payments multi-currency · finance team of three, no treasurer
As of
September 2026

Decision at a Glance

Your profileVerdictWhy
Under $2M a year in non-USD salesWAITAt this size the conversion fee is the whole FX cost and rate movement rounds off inside normal margin noise. Track it in the P&L and revisit when the number gets big enough to argue about.
$2M–$10M a year in non-USD salesBUILDMeasure before you hedge. A bank forward is a phone call at this size, and the thing you actually lack is a defensible number for how much GBP and EUR you will receive and when.
$10M–$50M a year in non-USD salesCUSTOMIZEThe exposure is big enough that your CFO wants a policy, and no platform will build the exposure feed for you. Buy the execution relationship, own the numbers going into it.
$50M+ non-USD, or a treasury function already in placeBUYAt this scale a treasury platform earns its keep on hedge accounting, documentation and audit trail alone. You still feed it your own exposure data, because Shopify will not.

What FX exposure and treasury hedging Actually Drives

OutcomeImpactHow it works
Data & insightHighReceipts by currency, by month, with the settlement lag attached is the input a bank or broker asks for before quoting a forward, and no Shopify report produces it.
Revenue — indirectHighMargin on a GBP or EUR order is set on the sale date and realized when the payout settles, so rate movement across that gap lands directly in gross margin by market.
Operational efficiencyMediumMatching multi-currency payouts to the orders behind them removes the month-end reconciliation scramble that finance teams currently run in a spreadsheet.
Customer experienceLowLocal-currency pricing and rounding rules shape what a shopper sees at checkout, though rate risk itself never reaches the storefront.

Spend ceiling: Size the spend against exposure, not revenue. On $10M of annual GBP and EUR receipts, a three-point adverse move is roughly $300,000 of margin (illustrative), which justifies a reporting build immediately and a treasury platform only once someone owns the hedging program.

What buying enables (top apps)

  • + Forward contracts and dynamic hedging programs executed by software rather than a spreadsheet and a broker call, at Kantox
  • + Hedge accounting documentation and an audit trail that satisfies auditors without finance assembling it by hand
  • + Accepting and settling like-for-like across 14+ currencies into a multi-currency wallet at Airwallex, avoiding a conversion on every payout
  • + A counterparty relationship and rate access that a mid-market brand rarely gets on its own

What building additionally unlocks

  • + Net exposure after local-currency costs, which is usually far smaller than gross and stops you hedging protection you already have
  • + Gross margin by market restated at the rate that actually settled, splitting the gap into conversion fee, rate movement and stale pricing
  • + A forward-looking receipts forecast built from your own demand data, which is what any hedge gets sized against
  • + Landed margin per market combining FX with duty, shipping and returns — four inputs no off-platform system sees together

Find Your Verdict in 3 Questions

  1. Does more than roughly 10% of revenue settle in a currency other than your reporting currency?

    Yes: Go to question 2.

    No: Your verdict: WAIT. Track the 1.5% conversion fee as a cost line and revisit when a second market gets material.

  2. Can finance already produce non-USD receipts by currency, by month, with the settlement lag attached?

    Yes: Go to question 3.

    No: Your verdict: BUILD. Nothing can be hedged that has not been measured, and the $18,000–$45,000 exposure build (Deploi estimate, illustrative) is the missing input.

  3. Is there a finance or treasury function that will own a hedging policy and its documentation?

    Yes: Your verdict: BUY. A treasury platform earns its place on execution, hedge accounting and audit trail once someone owns the program.

    No: Your verdict: CUSTOMIZE. Book forwards through your bank against the exposure view you own, and skip the platform until a treasurer exists.

The TCC Scorecard — 12 Dimensions

TCC — Total Cost of Capability: what it actually costs to have this capability over three years, whichever way you get it. Each dimension is scored 0–5 for both paths. How we score →

DimensionBuyBuildWhy
Cost
Acquisition & implementationA treasury platform runs a sales and onboarding cycle measured in months, while the exposure build is an estimated 5–9 weeks (Deploi estimate, illustrative).
Recurring feesKantox does not disclose pricing and sells through a demo, and forward-contract spreads sit inside the rate rather than on an invoice; the built view costs visible upkeep instead.
Maintenance & upgradesThe platform absorbs rate feeds and hedge-accounting rule changes as its core business, while your report breaks whenever payout structure or a new market currency changes.
Switching & exitOpen hedges and the trade history live with the counterparty you booked them through, while an exposure warehouse and its restated margin history stay in your own database.
Risk
Vendor riskTreasury vendors serve regulated finance teams and rarely vanish, but there is no App Store listing, no review count and no Shopify review process standing behind any of them.
Security & compliance surfaceA hedging platform needs bank connectivity and forward-looking revenue data, which is a wider blast radius than a reporting job that only reads Shopify orders and payouts.
Platform-deprecation exposureNothing here rides a Shopify surface that could sunset; the build reads orders, payouts and refunds, which are stable Admin API resources.
Value
Fit to requirementA treasury platform executes and documents hedges beautifully and cannot tell you what you are exposed to, because it never sees a Shopify order.
Time to marketNeither lane is fast: onboarding a treasury vendor takes a quarter, and a trustworthy first exposure report takes weeks of matching payouts to orders.
Performance & scaleHedging programs scale with notional value at almost no operational cost, while a reporting job scales with order volume and needs occasional query work.
Data ownership & AI-readinessMargin restated at the rate that actually settled is the asset: it corrects gross margin by market, and no off-platform system can produce it without your order data.
Focus & opportunity costExecuting and documenting forwards is specialist work worth outsourcing; knowing your own currency mix and settlement lag is not work you can hand to anyone.

The App Landscape

AppStatusPricingBest for
Kantox Dynamic HedgingLivePlatform integration; no App Store listing. Kantox sells forward contracts and dynamic hedging programs to finance directors, CFOs and treasury teams across travel, chemicals, pharma, logistics and fintech. Nothing on the product page is positioned for Shopify merchants, and no Shopify integration was found.Pricing not listed; quote and demo-based (verified Sep 2026)Finance teams already running a hedging policy who want forwards executed by software instead of spreadsheets
AirwallexLivePlatform integration; no App Store listing for hedging. The Shopify integration page describes accepting and settling like-for-like across 14+ currencies directly into a multi-currency wallet, which is a natural hedge rather than a hedging product. Airwallex's actual App Store apps cover payment collection and fraud prevention. Hedging, forward contracts and exposure tools appear nowhere on the integration page.Rates not shown on the Shopify integration page; pricing published separately (verified Sep 2026)Holding GBP and EUR balances instead of converting on every payout, when local-currency costs exist to spend them on
Shopify Payments multi-currencyNativeFirst-party Shopify surface. Prices convert to the customer's local currency at checkout using product price times the conversion rate, plus a conversion fee, with Shopify applying 1.5%. Only stores running Shopify Payments or Adyen as the primary gateway can take payment in a customer's local currency at all. Hedging, forward contracts and exposure management appear nowhere in the documentation.1.5% currency conversion fee on converted sales; included with Shopify Payments (verified Sep 2026)Presenting local prices and settling to USD, which is the source of the exposure rather than the answer to it
Exposure and settled-margin reporting (custom)Build laneThe piece nobody sells: orders, refunds and payouts pulled by currency, matched to the rate that actually settled, and rolled up into receipts by currency and month with the sale-to-settlement lag attached. That table is what a bank or broker asks for before it quotes anything, and no Shopify report produces it.$18,000–$45,000 one-time plus upkeep (Deploi estimate, illustrative)Any brand whose GBP or EUR margin moved and who cannot say how much of the move was rate

The Build Path

  • Currency-aware order and payout extract: Pull orders in presentment currency alongside the Shopify Payments payout that eventually settled them, and keep both the sale-date rate and the settled amount on every row. Refunds and chargebacks settle at a different rate than the original sale, so model them as separate exposure rather than netting them off at the sale rate. The unmatched bucket between orders and payouts is where this quietly goes wrong, so size it before trusting anything downstream.
  • Net exposure by currency and month: Roll receipts up by currency and by month, then subtract costs already denominated in that currency: an EU warehouse, EU payroll, local ad spend, VAT remittance. Net exposure is usually far smaller than gross, and a brand that hedges gross is buying protection it already has. Attach the average lag between sale date and settlement date, because that lag is the window the risk lives in.
  • Margin restated at the settled rate: Recompute gross margin by market using the rate that actually settled rather than the rate booked at sale. The gap splits into three named buckets: Shopify's 1.5% conversion fee, rate movement across the settlement lag, and pricing that was never reset after the last rate shift. That split is the number finance was arguing about, and it is the one output no treasury platform can generate.
Effort band
$18,000–$45,000 for the currency-aware extract, net exposure view and settled-margin restatement — Deploi estimate (illustrative); lands in the $10–25K contact-form band for a single storefront and two currencies, $25–75K across several markets and an ERP
Typical timeline
5–9 weeks to a first exposure report finance will sign off, then monthly (Deploi estimate, illustrative)
Maintenance, honestly
~15–20% of build cost per year (Deploi estimate): roughly $2,700–$9,000/yr (Deploi estimate, illustrative), mostly adding new market currencies, absorbing payout-structure changes and re-checking the order-to-payout match rate.
What you own — and what you take on
You own: receipts by currency and month, the sale-to-settlement lag, net exposure after local-currency costs, and gross margin restated at the settled rate. You take on: refund and chargeback rate handling, and keeping the extract honest as new markets switch on.

3-Year Total Cost of Capability

Buy (app path)Build (custom path)
Year 0 (setup)$15,000–$40,000 (onboarding, illustrative)$18,000–$45,000
Years 1–3 (recurring)$90,000–$216,000 (platform and program, illustrative)$8,100–$27,000 (upkeep)
3-year total≈$105,000–$256,000 (illustrative)≈$26,100–$72,000
Illustrative cumulative cost over 36 months$0$48k$95k$143k$190kMo 0Mo 12Mo 24Mo 36break-even ≈ mo 2Buy (app path)Build (custom path)
Illustrative cumulative cost across three years. The platform lane is priced for treasury teams running real hedging programs, and its cost is dominated by the program rather than the software. The built lane is cheap by comparison and answers a different question — what you are exposed to — which is why brands under the treasury-team line usually build first and buy execution from a bank.
  • All figures illustrative samples for the reference scenario — not quotes, not verified pricing.
  • Buy column stands in for an enterprise treasury platform plus finance time to run it; Kantox does not disclose pricing, so no figure here is a quote from any vendor.
  • Build column covers the currency-aware extract, net exposure view and settled-margin restatement, plus annual upkeep; three-year horizon.

What the Sticker Price Hides

On the buy path

  • Kantox does not publish pricing, so the first honest number arrives after a demo and a discovery call
  • Forward-contract cost hides inside the rate rather than on an invoice, which makes the running cost hard to see in the P&L
  • A treasury platform needs an exposure feed, and Shopify does not produce one — you build that either way
  • Settling like-for-like into a multi-currency wallet only helps when you have local-currency costs to spend the balance on

On the build path

  • Refunds and chargebacks settle at a different rate than the original sale, and netting them at the sale rate silently misstates exposure
  • Orders and payouts do not match one-to-one, and an unmatched bucket above a few percent invalidates the whole view
  • Every new market currency is new work, and market launches rarely tell finance in advance
  • ~$2,700–$9,000/yr in upkeep (Deploi estimate, illustrative)

What Merchants Say

The recurring finance complaint: UK gross margin dropped two points across a quarter with no price change, no discount change and no cost change, and nobody can prove how much of it was the rate.
community-reported (2026 research corpus)
Operators describe the same gap after switching on local-currency pricing: Shopify shows the conversion fee cleanly, and nothing anywhere shows the movement between the sale and the payout.
community-reported (2026 research corpus)

If You Change Your Mind Later

If you bought and outgrow it

Open hedges belong to the counterparty you booked them with, so ask before signing how positions unwind or novate if you leave, and get the trade history in a readable export. Bank connectivity should be revocable by you rather than tied to the platform contract.

If you built and want out

Nothing strands. The currency-aware order and payout tables, the net exposure view and the restated margin history live in your own warehouse, and they port straight into any treasury platform, any broker conversation or any auditor's request without a migration project.

When This Answer Changes

We're watching for:

  • Shopify adding any exposure or settlement-rate reporting beyond the presentment-currency conversion it documents today
  • A treasury or FX platform shipping an actual Shopify App Store listing rather than a bank-side integration
  • Your non-USD share of revenue crossing a third, or a new market launching in a currency finance has never modeled

Verdict change log:

No changes since first publication (September 2026).

Common Questions

Is there a Shopify app that hedges currency risk?

No Shopify app hedges currency risk. Kantox sells dynamic hedging to treasury teams off-platform, and Airwallex's Shopify apps cover payment collection and fraud rather than FX. Shopify Payments converts at checkout for a 1.5% fee and its help page never mentions forward contracts (verified Sep 2026). Hedging gets bought from a bank, a broker or a treasury platform.

What goes into an FX exposure report for a Shopify brand?

An FX exposure report lists non-USD receipts by currency, by month, and by the lag between sale date and settlement date. Subtract refunds, chargebacks and local-currency costs to get net exposure rather than gross. Building that view from Shopify orders and payouts runs $18,000 to $45,000 (Deploi estimate, illustrative). A bank or broker asks for exactly that table before quoting.

Does Shopify's 1.5% conversion fee cover exchange-rate risk?

Shopify's 1.5% currency conversion fee is a transaction cost, not exchange-rate risk. The fee applies inside the formula Shopify publishes: product price times conversion rate, plus the conversion fee (verified Sep 2026). Rate risk is the separate gap between the rate on the sale date and the rate when funds settle. Only Shopify Payments and Adyen stores charge in local currency at all.

Your Next Steps

If you're going with CUSTOMIZE(matches your selected profile)

  1. Pull twelve months of orders by presentment currency and match them to the payouts that settled them, then measure the unmatched rate first
  2. Separate the 1.5% Shopify conversion fee from rate movement, because finance is usually arguing about one while looking at the other
  3. Subtract local-currency costs — EU warehouse, payroll, ad spend, VAT — to get net exposure rather than gross
  4. Take that net exposure table to your existing bank before you take it to any platform, since a forward is a conversation you can have this week
  5. Restate gross margin by market at the settled rate, and hold the restated number as the real one going forward

If you're going with BUY

  1. Ask every vendor what exposure feed it expects and in what format, because you are building that feed regardless of who you buy
  2. Confirm how pricing works when nothing is published — platform fee, spread inside the rate, or both
  3. Check hedge-accounting documentation and audit-trail output against what your auditors actually ask for
  4. Agree how open positions unwind or novate if the relationship ends, before the first trade is booked

Official Docs & Sources

Official documentation linked for verification — our verdicts and estimates are our own.

Ready to see what your GBP and EUR margin actually settled at?

The hedging decision belongs to your CFO and your bank. The number underneath it does not exist yet, because Shopify never produces one. We pull orders, refunds and payouts by currency, match them to the rate that actually settled, and hand finance a net exposure view they can take into a forward conversation.

Contact us today

API & integration development

Verdict scored for the reference scenario above. Estimates are not quotes; app pricing carries its verification date and gets re-verified quarterly. Hedging policy is a finance decision for your CFO and counterparty — this page decides the tooling around it. Full scoring anchors: see the TCC methodology.

Read how we score these decisions (the TCC Framework). No affiliate links, no paid placement — no app vendor pays to appear here.

No affiliate links. No paid placement. We make money building and integrating solutions — not on referral fees.