Checkout surfaces open to apps and APIs on non-Plus plans and on Plus

Version 1. 11 rows, 8 columns.

By Martin DejnickiUpdated

Short answer

The dataset lists nine Shopify checkout surfaces and whether Shopify's documentation lets the Basic to Advanced plans and Plus customize each with apps, checkout UI extensions, Shopify Functions or the Checkout Branding API (yes, no or partial). Every plan from Basic can also brand all checkout pages in the checkout and accounts editor, which the rows do not record.

Below Plus, apps and APIs reach 2 of 8 checkout surfaces, though every plan can brand all checkout pages

Checkout surfaces Shopify documents as open to apps, checkout UI extensions, Functions or the Checkout Branding API, by plan group, October 2026

Apps in the information step Basic to Advanced: No Every plan from Basic can brand this step in the checkout and accounts editor; apps that customize it need Plus.Apps in the information step Plus: Yes Every plan from Basic can brand this step in the checkout and accounts editor; apps that customize it need Plus.Apps in the information step Plus: Yes Every plan from Basic can brand this step in the checkout and accounts editor; apps that customize it need Plus.Apps in the shipping step Basic to Advanced: No Every plan from Basic can brand this step in the checkout and accounts editor; apps that customize it need Plus.Apps in the shipping step Plus: Yes Every plan from Basic can brand this step in the checkout and accounts editor; apps that customize it need Plus.Apps in the shipping step Plus: Yes Every plan from Basic can brand this step in the checkout and accounts editor; apps that customize it need Plus.Apps in the payment step Basic to Advanced: No Every plan from Basic can brand this step in the checkout and accounts editor; apps that customize it need Plus.Apps in the payment step Plus: Yes Every plan from Basic can brand this step in the checkout and accounts editor; apps that customize it need Plus.Apps in the payment step Plus: Yes Every plan from Basic can brand this step in the checkout and accounts editor; apps that customize it need Plus.Apps on the thank-you page Basic to Advanced: Yes Apps on this page reached Basic, Shopify and Advanced on May 21, 2024, after Plus on November 7, 2023.Apps on the thank-you page Basic to Advanced: Yes Apps on this page reached Basic, Shopify and Advanced on May 21, 2024, after Plus on November 7, 2023.Apps on the thank-you page Plus: Yes Apps on this page reached Basic, Shopify and Advanced on May 21, 2024, after Plus on November 7, 2023.Apps on the thank-you page Plus: Yes Apps on this page reached Basic, Shopify and Advanced on May 21, 2024, after Plus on November 7, 2023.Apps on the order status page Basic to Advanced: Yes Apps on this page reached Basic, Shopify and Advanced on May 21, 2024, after Plus on November 7, 2023.Apps on the order status page Basic to Advanced: Yes Apps on this page reached Basic, Shopify and Advanced on May 21, 2024, after Plus on November 7, 2023.Apps on the order status page Plus: Yes Apps on this page reached Basic, Shopify and Advanced on May 21, 2024, after Plus on November 7, 2023.Apps on the order status page Plus: Yes Apps on this page reached Basic, Shopify and Advanced on May 21, 2024, after Plus on November 7, 2023.Checkout UI extensions in steps Basic to Advanced: No Covers extensions in the information, shipping and payment steps.Checkout UI extensions in steps Plus: Yes Covers extensions in the information, shipping and payment steps.Checkout UI extensions in steps Plus: Yes Covers extensions in the information, shipping and payment steps.Functions in checkout Basic to Advanced: Partly Every plan can use public App Store apps that contain functions; custom apps with Function APIs need Plus.Functions in checkout Basic to Advanced: Partly Every plan can use public App Store apps that contain functions; custom apps with Function APIs need Plus.Functions in checkout Plus: Yes Every plan can use public App Store apps that contain functions; custom apps with Function APIs need Plus.Functions in checkout Plus: Yes Every plan can use public App Store apps that contain functions; custom apps with Function APIs need Plus.Checkout Branding API Basic to Advanced: No Branding in the checkout and accounts editor is on every plan from Basic; the API needs Plus.Checkout Branding API Plus: Yes Branding in the checkout and accounts editor is on every plan from Basic; the API needs Plus.Checkout Branding API Plus: Yes Branding in the checkout and accounts editor is on every plan from Basic; the API needs Plus.

  • Marks the surfaces Shopify's docs open to apps, checkout UI extensions, Functions or the Checkout Branding API for each plan group; the counts of 2 and 8 are computed by Deploi.
  • Every plan from Basic can brand all checkout pages, including the information, shipping and payment steps, with a logo, colors, fonts and a background in the checkout and accounts editor; branding is not what the matrix records.
  • Functions in checkout are partly open below Plus: stores on any plan can use public App Store apps that contain functions, and only Plus stores can use custom apps with Function APIs; the partial cell is not counted.
  • Apps on the thank-you and order status pages reached Basic, Shopify and Advanced on May 21, 2024, after Plus on November 7, 2023.
  • Post-purchase pages are left out of the matrix because the dataset states no plan gating for them; the dataset keeps the row.

Source: Shopify Help Center and Shopify.dev documentation on checkout, checkout UI extensions, Functions and post-purchase offers. Counts computed by Deploi. Read on .

About this dataset

The dataset lists nine Shopify checkout surfaces and whether Shopify's documentation lets the Basic to Advanced plans and Plus customize each with apps, checkout UI extensions, Shopify Functions or the Checkout Branding API (yes, no or partial). Every plan from Basic can also brand all checkout pages in the checkout and accounts editor, which the rows do not record. It adds a count of surfaces marked yes per plan group, computed by Deploi. Sources are Shopify's Help Center, Changelog and Shopify.dev documentation on checkout, checkout UI extensions, Functions and post-purchase offers, read on October 18, 2026.

Version
1
Coverage in time
Documentation read October 18, 2026
Coverage in space
Worldwide (Shopify plans)
Last updated
October 19, 2026
License
CC BY 4.0. Deploi's compilation is CC BY 4.0. The underlying figures belong to their publishers and are cited to the sources listed.

Variables

The CSV header uses the column name.

Variables in Checkout surfaces open to apps and APIs on non-Plus plans and on Plus
Column nameLabelTypeUnitMeaning
rowKeyRow keystringStable key of the row; matches provenance rowKey.
nonPlusBasic to AdvancedstringtextWhether the Basic to Advanced plans can customize the surface with apps, checkout UI extensions, Shopify Functions or the Checkout Branding API: yes, no or partial, as Shopify's documentation states. Branding in the checkout and accounts editor is on every plan and is not recorded here.
plusPlusstringtextWhether Plus can customize the surface with apps, checkout UI extensions, Shopify Functions or the Checkout Branding API: yes, no or partial.
changedOnChanged ondatedateDate of the last documented change in plan gating, if any.
surfaceCountCustomizable surfacesnumbersurfacesNumber of surface rows answering yes for the plan group; computed by Deploi on the count rows only.
planGroupPlanstringtextPlan group of a count row, used as the chart label: Non-Plus plans, Plus.
surfaceSurfacestringtextCheckout surface name, used as a label; the step and page rows are app customization of that step or page.
surfaceNoteNotestringtextWhat the plan cells leave out for the surface, from the dataset's caveats; set by Deploi

The data

Checkout surfaces open to apps and APIs on non-Plus plans and on Plus
Row keyBasic to AdvancedPlusChanged onCustomizable surfacesPlanSurfaceNote
information-stepnoyesNot statedApps in the information step
Every plan from Basic can brand this step in the checkout and accounts editor; apps that customize it need Plus.
shipping-stepnoyesNot statedApps in the shipping step
Every plan from Basic can brand this step in the checkout and accounts editor; apps that customize it need Plus.
payment-stepnoyesNot statedApps in the payment step
Every plan from Basic can brand this step in the checkout and accounts editor; apps that customize it need Plus.
thank-you-pageyesyesMay 21, 2024Not statedApps on the thank-you pageApps on this page reached Basic, Shopify and Advanced on May 21, 2024, after Plus on November 7, 2023.
order-status-pageyesyesMay 21, 2024Not statedApps on the order status pageApps on this page reached Basic, Shopify and Advanced on May 21, 2024, after Plus on November 7, 2023.
post-purchaseNot statedPost-purchaseThe dataset states no plan gating for post-purchase pages.
checkout-brandingnoyesNot statedCheckout Branding APIBranding in the checkout and accounts editor is on every plan from Basic; the API needs Plus.
checkout-ui-extensions-in-stepsnoyesNot statedCheckout UI extensions in stepsCovers extensions in the information, shipping and payment steps.
functions-in-checkoutpartialyesNot statedFunctions in checkoutEvery plan can use public App Store apps that contain functions; custom apps with Function APIs need Plus.
count|non-plus2Non-Plus plans
count|plus8Plus

Download the full dataset as CSV

Where each value comes from

Every value, the document it was read from, the exact place in it and the date it was read. Computed values show their formula.

Show all 40 traced values
Provenance of each value
RowFieldValueSourceWhere in the sourceRead onMethod
information-stepBasic to AdvancednoShopify Help Center: Customizing and editing your checkout and accounts pages (Basic vs Plus comparison)| Eligible apps that customize the information, shipping, and payments pages | ✘ | ✔html
information-stepPlusyesShopify Help Center: Customizing and editing your checkout and accounts pages (Basic vs Plus comparison)Same passage as Basic to Advancedhtml
shipping-stepBasic to AdvancednoShopify Help Center: Customizing and editing your checkout and accounts pages (Basic vs Plus comparison)| Eligible apps that customize the information, shipping, and payments pages | ✘ | ✔html
shipping-stepPlusyesShopify Help Center: Customizing and editing your checkout and accounts pages (Basic vs Plus comparison)Same passage as Basic to Advancedhtml
payment-stepBasic to AdvancednoShopify Help Center: Customizing and editing your checkout and accounts pages (Basic vs Plus comparison)| Eligible apps that customize the information, shipping, and payments pages | ✘ | ✔html
payment-stepPlusyesShopify Help Center: Customizing and editing your checkout and accounts pages (Basic vs Plus comparison)Same passage as Basic to Advancedhtml
thank-you-pageBasic to AdvancedyesShopify Help Center: Customizing and editing your checkout and accounts pages (Basic vs Plus comparison)| Eligible apps that customize the thank you and order status pages | ✔ | ✔html
thank-you-pagePlusyesShopify Help Center: Customizing and editing your checkout and accounts pages (Basic vs Plus comparison)Same passage as Basic to Advancedhtml
order-status-pageBasic to AdvancedyesShopify Help Center: Customizing and editing your checkout and accounts pages (Basic vs Plus comparison)| Eligible apps that customize the thank you and order status pages | ✔ | ✔html
order-status-pagePlusyesShopify Help Center: Customizing and editing your checkout and accounts pages (Basic vs Plus comparison)Same passage as Basic to Advancedhtml
checkout-brandingBasic to AdvancednoShopify Help Center: Customizing and editing your checkout and accounts pages (Basic vs Plus comparison)| Access to the Checkout Branding API | ✘ | ✔html
checkout-brandingPlusyesShopify Help Center: Customizing and editing your checkout and accounts pages (Basic vs Plus comparison)Same passage as Basic to Advancedhtml
checkout-ui-extensions-in-stepsBasic to AdvancednoShopify.dev: Checkout UI extensions API (plan availability by checkout step)
Checkout UI extensions for the information, shipping, and payment steps are available only to stores on a Shopify Plus plan.
html
checkout-ui-extensions-in-stepsPlusyesShopify.dev: Checkout UI extensions API (plan availability by checkout step)Same passage as Basic to Advancedhtml
functions-in-checkoutBasic to AdvancedpartialShopify.dev: About Shopify Functions
Stores on any plan can use public apps that are distributed through the Shopify App Store and contain functions. Only stores on a Shopify Plus plan can use…
html
functions-in-checkoutPlusyesShopify.dev: About Shopify FunctionsOnly stores on a Shopify Plus plan can use custom apps that contain Shopify Function APIs.html
order-status-pageChanged on2024-05-21Shopify Changelog RSS feed (changelog.shopify.com), posts 2018-08 to 2026-10New checkout and accounts editor for merchants on Basic, Advanced, and Shopify plansruled
thank-you-pageChanged on2024-05-21Shopify Changelog RSS feed (changelog.shopify.com), posts 2018-08 to 2026-10New checkout and accounts editor for merchants on Basic, Advanced, and Shopify plansruled
information-stepSurfaceApps in the information stepComputed by Deploisurface = display label of the surface row; display label set by DeploiFormula: display label of the surface rowcomputed
shipping-stepSurfaceApps in the shipping stepComputed by Deploisurface = display label of the surface row; display label set by DeploiFormula: display label of the surface rowcomputed
payment-stepSurfaceApps in the payment stepComputed by Deploisurface = display label of the surface row; display label set by DeploiFormula: display label of the surface rowcomputed
thank-you-pageSurfaceApps on the thank-you pageComputed by Deploisurface = display label of the surface row; display label set by DeploiFormula: display label of the surface rowcomputed
order-status-pageSurfaceApps on the order status pageComputed by Deploisurface = display label of the surface row; display label set by DeploiFormula: display label of the surface rowcomputed
post-purchaseSurfacePost-purchaseComputed by Deploisurface = display label of the surface row; display label set by DeploiFormula: display label of the surface rowcomputed
checkout-brandingSurfaceCheckout Branding APIComputed by Deploisurface = display label of the surface row; display label set by DeploiFormula: display label of the surface rowcomputed
checkout-ui-extensions-in-stepsSurfaceCheckout UI extensions in stepsComputed by Deploisurface = display label of the surface row; display label set by DeploiFormula: display label of the surface rowcomputed
functions-in-checkoutSurfaceFunctions in checkoutComputed by Deploisurface = display label of the surface row; display label set by DeploiFormula: display label of the surface rowcomputed
count|non-plusPlanNon-Plus plansComputed by DeploiplanGroup = display label of the plan group in the row key: Non-Plus plans, Plus; display label set by DeploiFormula: display label of the plan group in the row key: Non-Plus plans, Pluscomputed
count|non-plusCustomizable surfaces2 surfacesComputed by Deploi
surfaceCount = number of surface rows answering yes for the plan group in the row key (no, partial and empty cells are not counted); inputs…
Formula: number of surface rows answering yes for the plan group in the row key (no, partial and empty cells are not counted)
computed
count|plusPlanPlusComputed by DeploiplanGroup = display label of the plan group in the row key: Non-Plus plans, Plus; display label set by DeploiFormula: display label of the plan group in the row key: Non-Plus plans, Pluscomputed
count|plusCustomizable surfaces8 surfacesComputed by Deploi
surfaceCount = number of surface rows answering yes for the plan group in the row key (no, partial and empty cells are not counted); inputs…
Formula: number of surface rows answering yes for the plan group in the row key (no, partial and empty cells are not counted)
computed
information-stepNoteEvery plan from Basic can brand this step in the checkout and accounts editor; apps that customize…Computed by Deploi
surfaceNote = a note on what the plan cells leave out for the surface, set by Deploi from the row key and the dataset's caveats and rows (the checkout and…
Formula: a note on what the plan cells leave out for the surface, set by Deploi from the row key and the dataset's caveats and rows (the checkout and accounts editor on every plan from Basic, the dated changes, functions in checkout); count rows have none
computed
shipping-stepNoteEvery plan from Basic can brand this step in the checkout and accounts editor; apps that customize…Computed by Deploi
surfaceNote = a note on what the plan cells leave out for the surface, set by Deploi from the row key and the dataset's caveats and rows (the checkout and…
Formula: a note on what the plan cells leave out for the surface, set by Deploi from the row key and the dataset's caveats and rows (the checkout and accounts editor on every plan from Basic, the dated changes, functions in checkout); count rows have none
computed
payment-stepNoteEvery plan from Basic can brand this step in the checkout and accounts editor; apps that customize…Computed by Deploi
surfaceNote = a note on what the plan cells leave out for the surface, set by Deploi from the row key and the dataset's caveats and rows (the checkout and…
Formula: a note on what the plan cells leave out for the surface, set by Deploi from the row key and the dataset's caveats and rows (the checkout and accounts editor on every plan from Basic, the dated changes, functions in checkout); count rows have none
computed
thank-you-pageNoteApps on this page reached Basic, Shopify and Advanced on May 21, 2024, after Plus on November 7…Computed by Deploi
surfaceNote = a note on what the plan cells leave out for the surface, set by Deploi from the row key and the dataset's caveats and rows (the checkout and…
Formula: a note on what the plan cells leave out for the surface, set by Deploi from the row key and the dataset's caveats and rows (the checkout and accounts editor on every plan from Basic, the dated changes, functions in checkout); count rows have none
computed
order-status-pageNoteApps on this page reached Basic, Shopify and Advanced on May 21, 2024, after Plus on November 7…Computed by Deploi
surfaceNote = a note on what the plan cells leave out for the surface, set by Deploi from the row key and the dataset's caveats and rows (the checkout and…
Formula: a note on what the plan cells leave out for the surface, set by Deploi from the row key and the dataset's caveats and rows (the checkout and accounts editor on every plan from Basic, the dated changes, functions in checkout); count rows have none
computed
post-purchaseNoteThe dataset states no plan gating for post-purchase pages.Computed by Deploi
surfaceNote = a note on what the plan cells leave out for the surface, set by Deploi from the row key and the dataset's caveats and rows (the checkout and…
Formula: a note on what the plan cells leave out for the surface, set by Deploi from the row key and the dataset's caveats and rows (the checkout and accounts editor on every plan from Basic, the dated changes, functions in checkout); count rows have none
computed
checkout-brandingNoteBranding in the checkout and accounts editor is on every plan from Basic; the API needs Plus.Computed by Deploi
surfaceNote = a note on what the plan cells leave out for the surface, set by Deploi from the row key and the dataset's caveats and rows (the checkout and…
Formula: a note on what the plan cells leave out for the surface, set by Deploi from the row key and the dataset's caveats and rows (the checkout and accounts editor on every plan from Basic, the dated changes, functions in checkout); count rows have none
computed
checkout-ui-extensions-in-stepsNoteCovers extensions in the information, shipping and payment steps.Computed by Deploi
surfaceNote = a note on what the plan cells leave out for the surface, set by Deploi from the row key and the dataset's caveats and rows (the checkout and…
Formula: a note on what the plan cells leave out for the surface, set by Deploi from the row key and the dataset's caveats and rows (the checkout and accounts editor on every plan from Basic, the dated changes, functions in checkout); count rows have none
computed
functions-in-checkoutNoteEvery plan can use public App Store apps that contain functions; custom apps with Function APIs…Computed by Deploi
surfaceNote = a note on what the plan cells leave out for the surface, set by Deploi from the row key and the dataset's caveats and rows (the checkout and…
Formula: a note on what the plan cells leave out for the surface, set by Deploi from the row key and the dataset's caveats and rows (the checkout and accounts editor on every plan from Basic, the dated changes, functions in checkout); count rows have none
computed
Methodology

Caveats: Checkout surfaces open to apps and APIs on non-Plus plans and on Plus

  • Every plan from Basic can use the checkout and accounts editor to brand all checkout pages, including the information, shipping and payment steps, with a logo, colors, fonts and a background, according to Shopify's Help Center. The yes and no cells record customization with apps, checkout UI extensions, Shopify Functions and the Checkout Branding API.
  • The counts include only surfaces marked yes for the plan group. Partial, no and empty cells are not counted. Functions in checkout is partial on non-Plus plans: stores on any plan can use public App Store apps that contain functions, and only Plus stores can use custom apps with Shopify Function APIs.
  • Post-purchase pages have empty plan cells because the dataset states no plan gating for them.
  • The changed-on column dates the one documented change in which plan group can customize a surface: on May 21, 2024 the checkout and accounts editor, with apps for the thank-you and order status pages, reached Basic, Shopify and Advanced, after extensibility on those pages reached Plus on November 7, 2023. Deploi found no dated gating change for the other surfaces; the retirement of checkout.liquid retired an older method.
  • Counts are computed by Deploi from the surface rows and are not figures Shopify publishes.

Deploi's charts and compilation are licensed CC BY 4.0. The underlying facts belong to their sources, which are named on every page. How Deploi Shopify Data works.

Sources

Tier A sources are primary documents: filings, official releases and official price pages. How sources are ranked.

Cite and reuse

Deploi's charts and compilation are licensed CC BY 4.0. The underlying facts belong to their sources, which are named on every page.

APA

Deploi. (2026). Checkout surfaces open to apps and APIs on non-Plus plans and on Plus (Version 1) [Data set]. https://deploi.ca/shopify/data/datasets/checkout-surfaces-by-plan Retrieved October 19, 2026.

BibTeX

@misc{deploi_checkout_surfaces_by_plan_2026,
  author = {{Deploi}},
  title = {Checkout surfaces open to apps and APIs on non-Plus plans and on Plus},
  year = {2026},
  version = {1},
  url = {https://deploi.ca/shopify/data/datasets/checkout-surfaces-by-plan},
  note = {Accessed 2026-10-19}
}

Downloads

  • Data: Checkout surfaces open to apps and APIs on non-Plus plans and on Plus CSV

Changes

  1. · Checkout surfaces open to apps and APIs on non-Plus plans and on Plus
    First release. Nine surface rows, each with a note on what its plan cells leave out (surfaceNote), and two count rows, read from Shopify's documentation on October 18, 2026.
Deploi is not affiliated with Shopify. Questions about this data: contact@deploi.ca.