Shopify features that moved from Plus-only to other plans, and remaining Plus exclusives
Version 1. 14 rows, 12 columns.
By Martin DejnickiUpdated
Short answer
The dataset lists Shopify features that Shopify's Changelog or Help Center documents as moving from Plus-only to other plans, with the date and the plans they now reach, and features the sources still show as Plus-only. It adds a count of features opened per calendar year from 2021 to 2026, computed by Deploi. Sources are Shopify's Changelog, Help Center and Shopify.dev, read on October 18, 2026.
Of 8 features Deploi tracked, Shopify opened 2 from Plus-only to other plans between 2021 and 2026: Flow and B2B
Dates Shopify documents for features among the 8 Deploi tracked moving from Plus-only to other plans, 2021 to 2026, as of October 18, 2026
- Shows the moves from Plus-only to other plans that Shopify documents with a date for the 8 features Deploi tracked; Shopify's Changelog dates other moves too, such as order value limits in Checkout Blocks on April 13, 2026.
- Shopify Flow left Plus-only on March 22, 2022, when the Changelog opened it to Advanced; it reached the Shopify plan on June 22, 2022 and Basic on July 26, 2023. B2B opened to Basic, Grow and Advanced on April 2, 2026.
- On Basic, Grow and Advanced, B2B allows up to 3 active catalogs; unlimited catalogs, direct catalog assignment to companies and locations, deposit requirements and partial payments remain Plus-only.
- Other features the dataset lists as Plus-only are Launchpad, expansion stores, custom apps built with Shopify Functions and checkout UI extensions for the information, shipping and payment steps; they are on the dataset page.
Source: Shopify Changelog and Shopify Help Center. Counts computed by Deploi. Read on .
About this dataset
The dataset lists Shopify features that Shopify's Changelog or Help Center documents as moving from Plus-only to other plans, with the date and the plans they now reach, and features the sources still show as Plus-only. It adds a count of features opened per calendar year from 2021 to 2026, computed by Deploi. Sources are Shopify's Changelog, Help Center and Shopify.dev, read on October 18, 2026.
- Version
- 1
- Coverage in time
- Documented plan changes from 2021 to 2026; pages read October 18, 2026
- Coverage in space
- Worldwide (Shopify plans)
- Last updated
- October 19, 2026
- License
- CC BY 4.0. Deploi's compilation is CC BY 4.0. The underlying figures belong to their publishers and are cited to the sources listed.
Variables
The CSV header uses the column name.
| Column name | Label | Type | Unit | Meaning |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| rowKey | Row key | string | Stable key of the row; matches provenance rowKey. | |
| feature | Feature | string | text | Feature name as Shopify documents it. |
| plusOnlyUntil | Plus-only until | date | date | Date Shopify documents the feature becoming available beyond Plus; empty if the feature is still Plus-only. |
| availableOn | Available on | string | text | Plans the feature is available on as of October 18, 2026, as Shopify states them. |
| statedQuantity | Quantity included with Plus | number | count | Quantity Shopify states for Plus where the feature is metered, for example 20 POS Pro locations. |
| openedYear | Year opened to other plans | number | year | Calendar year of the date in Plus-only until; computed by Deploi. |
| featuresOpenedCount | Features opened that year | number | count | Number of feature rows opened in that calendar year; computed by Deploi on the count rows only. |
| countYear | Year | string | text | Calendar year of a count row, used as the chart axis. |
| rowType | Row type | string | text | feature for the feature rows, count for the count|YYYY rows |
| status | Status | string | text | opened when plusOnlyUntil is a full date on or before the dataset's read date, October 18, 2026; not-opened when plusOnlyUntil is empty |
| lane | Timeline lane | string | text | Opened to other plans on the opened rows, for the timeline |
| openedSteps | Opened to | string | text | The plans the feature reached after Plus, each with the date of the Shopify Changelog post that announced it, computed by Deploi from the Changelog feed; empty on the features still Plus-only |
The data
| Row key | Feature | Plus-only until | Available on | Quantity included with Plus (count) | Year opened to other plans | Features opened that year (count) | Year | Row type | Status | Timeline lane | Opened to |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| b2b | Shopify B2B | Apr 2, 2026 | Basic, Grow, and Advanced | Not stated | 2026 | Not stated | feature | opened | Opened to other plans | Basic, Grow and Advanced on April 2, 2026 | |
| shopify-functions-custom-apps | custom apps built with Shopify Functions | Shopify Plus | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | feature | not-opened | ||||
| checkout-ui-extensions | Checkout UI extensions for the information, shipping, and payment steps | Shopify Plus | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | feature | not-opened | ||||
| shopify-flow | Shopify Flow | Mar 22, 2022 | Basic, Shopify, Advanced, and Plus | Not stated | 2022 | Not stated | feature | opened | Opened to other plans | Advanced on March 22, 2022; the Shopify plan on June 22, 2022; Basic on July 26, 2023 | |
| launchpad | Launchpad | Shopify Plus | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | feature | not-opened | ||||
| pos-pro-locations | POS Pro locations | All Shopify Plus plans (first 20 POS Pro locations included) | 20 | Not stated | Not stated | feature | not-opened | ||||
| expansion-stores | Expansion stores | Shopify Plus | 9 | Not stated | Not stated | feature | not-opened | ||||
| b2b-catalogs | Unlimited B2B catalogs and direct catalog assignment to company locations | Shopify Plus | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | feature | not-opened | ||||
| count|2021 | Not stated | Not stated | 0 | 2021 | count | ||||||
| count|2022 | Not stated | Not stated | 1 | 2022 | count | ||||||
| count|2023 | Not stated | Not stated | 0 | 2023 | count | ||||||
| count|2024 | Not stated | Not stated | 0 | 2024 | count | ||||||
| count|2025 | Not stated | Not stated | 0 | 2025 | count | ||||||
| count|2026 | Not stated | Not stated | 1 | 2026 | count |
Where each value comes from
Every value, the document it was read from, the exact place in it and the date it was read. Computed values show their formula.
Show all 60 traced values
| Row | Field | Value | Source | Where in the source | Read on | Method |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| b2b | Feature | Shopify B2B | Shopify Help Center: Shopify B2B features by plan | You can use Shopify B2B on the Basic, Grow, Advanced, and Shopify Plus plans. Shopify B2B isn't available on the Starter or Retail plans. The features… | text | |
| b2b | Plus-only until | 2026-04-02 | Key B2B features now available on non-Plus plans (Shopify Changelog) | April 02, 2026 | html | |
| b2b | Available on | Basic, Grow, and Advanced | Shopify Changelog RSS feed (changelog.shopify.com), posts 2018-08 to 2026-10 | <![CDATA[<p>Merchants on Basic, Grow, and Advanced plans can start selling wholesale using native B2B features, available in their admin. This includes up to… | text | |
| shopify-functions-custom-apps | Feature | custom apps built with Shopify Functions | Shopify Help Center: Shopify Plus plan (Localized Plus plan pricing) | <td>Design and deploy flexible customizations for unique commerce experiences using custom apps built with <a… | text | |
| shopify-functions-custom-apps | Available on | Shopify Plus | Shopify Help Center: Shopify Plus plan (Localized Plus plan pricing) | <td>Design and deploy flexible customizations for unique commerce experiences using custom apps built with <a… | text | |
| checkout-ui-extensions | Feature | Checkout UI extensions for the information, shipping, and payment steps | Shopify.dev: Checkout UI extensions API (plan availability by checkout step) | Checkout UI extensions for the information, shipping, and payment steps are available only to stores on a Shopify Plus plan. | html | |
| checkout-ui-extensions | Available on | Shopify Plus | Shopify.dev: Checkout UI extensions API (plan availability by checkout step) | Same passage as Feature | html | |
| shopify-flow | Feature | Shopify Flow | Shopify Changelog RSS feed (changelog.shopify.com), posts 2018-08 to 2026-10 | <![CDATA[<p>Shopify Flow is now available in the Shopify plan and up (including Advanced plan and Shopify Plus plan). </p> | text | |
| shopify-flow | Plus-only until | 2022-03-22 | Shopify Flow on the Advanced Plan (Shopify Changelog) | Shopify Flow is now available to all merchants on the Advanced Plan. To access Flow, merchants on the Advanced Plan need to download and install the Flow app… | html | |
| shopify-flow | Available on | Basic, Shopify, Advanced, and Plus | Shopify Flow - now available to Basic plan (Shopify Changelog) | …is now available to the Basic plan, making it available to Basic, Shopify, Advanced, and Plus. Flow is also available to SFN merchants regardless of plan.… | html | |
| launchpad | Feature | Launchpad | Shopify Help Center: Shopify Plus plan (Localized Plus plan pricing) | …including <a href=/manual/promoting-marketing/create-marketing/launchpad>Launchpad</a> for scheduled and automated promotions. The Shopify Plus plan also… | text | |
| launchpad | Available on | Shopify Plus | Shopify Help Center: Shopify Plus plan (Localized Plus plan pricing) | <td>Stores on the Shopify Plus plan have access to advanced apps that are designed for high-growth merchants, including <a… | text | |
| pos-pro-locations | Feature | POS Pro locations | Shopify Help Center: Shopify Plus plan (Localized Plus plan pricing) | <td>The first 20 <a href=/manual/sell-in-person/getting-started/identify-your-pos-needs#choose-your-shopify-pos-app-subscription>POS Pro</a> locations are… | text | |
| pos-pro-locations | Available on | All Shopify Plus plans (first 20 POS Pro locations included) | Shopify Help Center: Shopify Plus plan (Localized Plus plan pricing) | <td>The first 20 <a href=/manual/sell-in-person/getting-started/identify-your-pos-needs#choose-your-shopify-pos-app-subscription>POS Pro</a> locations are… | text | |
| pos-pro-locations | Quantity included with Plus | 20 count | Shopify Help Center: Shopify Plus plan (Localized Plus plan pricing) | <td>The first 20 <a href=/manual/sell-in-person/getting-started/identify-your-pos-needs#choose-your-shopify-pos-app-subscription>POS Pro</a> locations are… | text | |
| expansion-stores | Feature | Expansion stores | Shopify Help Center: Shopify Plus plan (Localized Plus plan pricing) | …separate physical locations, and other related purposes. Expansion stores need to have a theme license for each live expansion store.</td> | text | |
| expansion-stores | Available on | Shopify Plus | Shopify Help Center: Shopify Plus plan (Localized Plus plan pricing) | <td>The Shopify Plus plan supports 9 <a href=/manual/your-account/manage-orgs-and-stores/manage-orgs/create-store>expansion stores</a> for… | text | |
| expansion-stores | Quantity included with Plus | 9 count | Shopify Help Center: Shopify Plus plan (Localized Plus plan pricing) | <td>The Shopify Plus plan supports 9 <a href=/manual/your-account/manage-orgs-and-stores/manage-orgs/create-store>expansion stores</a> for… | text | |
| b2b-catalogs | Feature | Unlimited B2B catalogs and direct catalog assignment to company locations | Shopify Help Center: Shopify Plus plan (Localized Plus plan pricing) | Unlimited B2B catalogs and direct catalog assignment to company locations are available only on the Shopify Plus plan. | text | |
| b2b-catalogs | Available on | Shopify Plus | Shopify Changelog RSS feed (changelog.shopify.com), posts 2018-08 to 2026-10 | <p>These features are available to use at no additional cost. Unlimited catalogs for customer-specific pricing, direct catalog assignment to companies and… | text | |
| b2b | Year opened to other plans | 2026 | Computed by Deploi | openedYear = calendar year of plusOnlyUntil; inputs b2b.plusOnlyUntil = 2026-04-02Formula: calendar year of plusOnlyUntil | computed | |
| shopify-flow | Year opened to other plans | 2022 | Computed by Deploi | openedYear = calendar year of plusOnlyUntil; inputs shopify-flow.plusOnlyUntil = 2022-03-22Formula: calendar year of plusOnlyUntil | computed | |
| count|2021 | Features opened that year | 0 count | Computed by Deploi | featuresOpenedCount = number of feature rows whose openedYear equals the year in the row key; inputs b2b.openedYear = 2026… | computed | |
| count|2022 | Features opened that year | 1 count | Computed by Deploi | featuresOpenedCount = number of feature rows whose openedYear equals the year in the row key; inputs b2b.openedYear = 2026… | computed | |
| count|2023 | Features opened that year | 0 count | Computed by Deploi | featuresOpenedCount = number of feature rows whose openedYear equals the year in the row key; inputs b2b.openedYear = 2026… | computed | |
| count|2024 | Features opened that year | 0 count | Computed by Deploi | featuresOpenedCount = number of feature rows whose openedYear equals the year in the row key; inputs b2b.openedYear = 2026… | computed | |
| count|2025 | Features opened that year | 0 count | Computed by Deploi | featuresOpenedCount = number of feature rows whose openedYear equals the year in the row key; inputs b2b.openedYear = 2026… | computed | |
| count|2026 | Features opened that year | 1 count | Computed by Deploi | featuresOpenedCount = number of feature rows whose openedYear equals the year in the row key; inputs b2b.openedYear = 2026… | computed | |
| b2b | Row type | feature | Computed by Deploi | rowType = count when part 1 of the row key is count, otherwise feature; row type set by Deploi from the row key b2b | computed | |
| b2b | Status | opened | Computed by Deploi | status = feature rows: opened when plusOnlyUntil is a full date on or before the read date (2026-10-18), not-opened when plusOnlyUntil is empty; any other… | computed | |
| b2b | Timeline lane | Opened to other plans | Computed by Deploi | lane = Opened to other plans on the rows with status opened; empty on every other row; the feature opened to other plans on 2026-04-02 | computed | |
| shopify-functions-custom-apps | Row type | feature | Computed by Deploi | rowType = count when part 1 of the row key is count, otherwise feature; row type set by Deploi from the row key shopify-functions-custom-apps | computed | |
| shopify-functions-custom-apps | Status | not-opened | Computed by Deploi | …plusOnlyUntil is a full date on or before the read date (2026-10-18), not-opened when plusOnlyUntil is empty; any other value gives an empty cell and a flag;… | computed | |
| checkout-ui-extensions | Row type | feature | Computed by Deploi | rowType = count when part 1 of the row key is count, otherwise feature; row type set by Deploi from the row key checkout-ui-extensions | computed | |
| checkout-ui-extensions | Status | not-opened | Computed by Deploi | …plusOnlyUntil is a full date on or before the read date (2026-10-18), not-opened when plusOnlyUntil is empty; any other value gives an empty cell and a flag;… | computed | |
| shopify-flow | Row type | feature | Computed by Deploi | rowType = count when part 1 of the row key is count, otherwise feature; row type set by Deploi from the row key shopify-flow | computed | |
| shopify-flow | Status | opened | Computed by Deploi | status = feature rows: opened when plusOnlyUntil is a full date on or before the read date (2026-10-18), not-opened when plusOnlyUntil is empty; any other… | computed | |
| shopify-flow | Timeline lane | Opened to other plans | Computed by Deploi | lane = Opened to other plans on the rows with status opened; empty on every other row; the feature opened to other plans on 2022-03-22 | computed | |
| launchpad | Row type | feature | Computed by Deploi | rowType = count when part 1 of the row key is count, otherwise feature; row type set by Deploi from the row key launchpad | computed | |
| launchpad | Status | not-opened | Computed by Deploi | …plusOnlyUntil is a full date on or before the read date (2026-10-18), not-opened when plusOnlyUntil is empty; any other value gives an empty cell and a flag;… | computed | |
| pos-pro-locations | Row type | feature | Computed by Deploi | rowType = count when part 1 of the row key is count, otherwise feature; row type set by Deploi from the row key pos-pro-locations | computed | |
| pos-pro-locations | Status | not-opened | Computed by Deploi | …plusOnlyUntil is a full date on or before the read date (2026-10-18), not-opened when plusOnlyUntil is empty; any other value gives an empty cell and a flag;… | computed | |
| expansion-stores | Row type | feature | Computed by Deploi | rowType = count when part 1 of the row key is count, otherwise feature; row type set by Deploi from the row key expansion-stores | computed | |
| expansion-stores | Status | not-opened | Computed by Deploi | …plusOnlyUntil is a full date on or before the read date (2026-10-18), not-opened when plusOnlyUntil is empty; any other value gives an empty cell and a flag;… | computed | |
| b2b-catalogs | Row type | feature | Computed by Deploi | rowType = count when part 1 of the row key is count, otherwise feature; row type set by Deploi from the row key b2b-catalogs | computed | |
| b2b-catalogs | Status | not-opened | Computed by Deploi | …plusOnlyUntil is a full date on or before the read date (2026-10-18), not-opened when plusOnlyUntil is empty; any other value gives an empty cell and a flag;… | computed | |
| count|2021 | Row type | count | Computed by Deploi | rowType = count when part 1 of the row key is count, otherwise feature; row type set by Deploi from the row key count|2021 | computed | |
| count|2022 | Row type | count | Computed by Deploi | rowType = count when part 1 of the row key is count, otherwise feature; row type set by Deploi from the row key count|2022 | computed | |
| count|2023 | Row type | count | Computed by Deploi | rowType = count when part 1 of the row key is count, otherwise feature; row type set by Deploi from the row key count|2023 | computed | |
| count|2024 | Row type | count | Computed by Deploi | rowType = count when part 1 of the row key is count, otherwise feature; row type set by Deploi from the row key count|2024 | computed | |
| count|2025 | Row type | count | Computed by Deploi | rowType = count when part 1 of the row key is count, otherwise feature; row type set by Deploi from the row key count|2025 | computed | |
| count|2026 | Row type | count | Computed by Deploi | rowType = count when part 1 of the row key is count, otherwise feature; row type set by Deploi from the row key count|2026 | computed | |
| b2b | Opened to | Basic, Grow and Advanced on April 2, 2026 | Computed by Deploi | openedSteps = '<plans> on <date>' for each Shopify Changelog post that opened the feature to more plans, in date order, the dates from the Changelog feed… | computed | |
| shopify-flow | Opened to | Advanced on March 22, 2022; the Shopify plan on June 22, 2022; Basic on July 26, 2023 | Computed by Deploi | openedSteps = '<plans> on <date>' for each Shopify Changelog post that opened the feature to more plans, in date order, the dates from the Changelog feed… | computed | |
| count|2021 | Year | 2021 | Computed by Deploi | countYear = the year in the count|YYYY row key (feature rows have none); set by Deploi from the row key count|2021 | computed | |
| count|2022 | Year | 2022 | Computed by Deploi | countYear = the year in the count|YYYY row key (feature rows have none); set by Deploi from the row key count|2022 | computed | |
| count|2023 | Year | 2023 | Computed by Deploi | countYear = the year in the count|YYYY row key (feature rows have none); set by Deploi from the row key count|2023 | computed | |
| count|2024 | Year | 2024 | Computed by Deploi | countYear = the year in the count|YYYY row key (feature rows have none); set by Deploi from the row key count|2024 | computed | |
| count|2025 | Year | 2025 | Computed by Deploi | countYear = the year in the count|YYYY row key (feature rows have none); set by Deploi from the row key count|2025 | computed | |
| count|2026 | Year | 2026 | Computed by Deploi | countYear = the year in the count|YYYY row key (feature rows have none); set by Deploi from the row key count|2026 | computed |
Methodology
Caveats: Shopify features that moved from Plus-only to other plans, and remaining Plus exclusives
- The count covers the 8 features Deploi tracked. Shopify's Changelog dates other moves out of Plus too, such as order value limits in Checkout Blocks, opened to Basic, Grow and Advanced on April 13, 2026, so the yearly counts are not a full history of features leaving Plus.
- The Plus-only rows describe availability as of October 18, 2026. They show a feature as Plus-only because the pages Deploi read name only Plus; Shopify may change gating without a dated post.
- Shopify B2B on Basic, Grow and Advanced allows up to 3 active B2B market catalogs. Unlimited catalogs, direct company catalogs, deposit requirements, partial payments and payment requests per fulfillment are Plus-only, contextual checkout and storefront customization need Advanced or Plus, and B2B is not available on the Starter or Retail plans.
- The availableOn text is Shopify's own wording, including its plan names. Shopify Flow is listed on Basic, Shopify, Advanced and Plus as the Help Center prints them.
- POS Pro locations are recorded as a stated quantity (20 included with Plus) and not as an opened feature, because no dated move is documented. The dataset does not record whether other plans can add POS Pro locations.
- The yearly counts are computed by Deploi from the feature rows: each year holds the number of feature rows whose opening date falls in that year.
Deploi's charts and compilation are licensed CC BY 4.0. The underlying facts belong to their sources, which are named on every page. How Deploi Shopify Data works.
Sources
Tier A sources are primary documents: filings, official releases and official price pages. How sources are ranked.
- Tier AKey B2B features now available on non-Plus plans (Shopify Changelog)
Shopify Inc. · HTML · Read on
- Tier AShopify Changelog RSS feed (changelog.shopify.com), posts 2018-08 to 2026-10
Shopify Inc. · TEXT · Read on
- Tier AShopify Flow on the Advanced Plan (Shopify Changelog)
Shopify Inc. · HTML · Read on
- Tier AShopify Flow - now available to Basic plan (Shopify Changelog)
Shopify Inc. · HTML · Read on
- Tier AShopify Help Center: Shopify B2B features by plan
Shopify Inc. · TEXT · Read on
- Tier AShopify Help Center: Shopify Plus plan (Localized Plus plan pricing)
Shopify Inc. · TEXT · Read on
- Tier AShopify.dev: Checkout UI extensions API (plan availability by checkout step)
Shopify Inc. · HTML · Read on
Cite and reuse
Deploi's charts and compilation are licensed CC BY 4.0. The underlying facts belong to their sources, which are named on every page.
APA
Deploi. (2026). Shopify features that moved from Plus-only to other plans, and remaining Plus exclusives (Version 1) [Data set]. https://deploi.ca/shopify/data/datasets/plus-feature-gating Retrieved October 19, 2026.
BibTeX
@misc{deploi_plus_feature_gating_2026,
author = {{Deploi}},
title = {Shopify features that moved from Plus-only to other plans, and remaining Plus exclusives},
year = {2026},
version = {1},
url = {https://deploi.ca/shopify/data/datasets/plus-feature-gating},
note = {Accessed 2026-10-19}
}Downloads
- Data: Shopify features that moved from Plus-only to other plans, and remaining Plus exclusives CSV
Changes
- · Shopify features that moved from Plus-only to other plans, and remaining Plus exclusives
First release. Eight feature rows and six yearly count rows (2021 to 2026), read from Shopify's Changelog, Help Center and Shopify.dev on October 18, 2026, with the rowType, status, lane and openedSteps columns for the timeline of features opened to other plans.