Shopify Capital: advances purchased, receivables and fee income, 2022 to 2025
Version 1. 4 rows, 5 columns.
By Martin DejnickiUpdated Data through 2025
Short answer
The dataset gives Shopify Capital's merchant cash advances and loans purchased in the year, the year-end net current receivable and the interest and fee income, for 2022 to 2025 in USD millions. The figures come from Shopify Inc.'s Form 10-K filings for fiscal 2024 and 2025, its audited financial statements for 2022 and 2023 filed with Form 40-F, and SEC EDGAR XBRL data, read on October 18, 2026.
Shopify Capital's receivables reached $1,784 million at the end of 2025, up from $580 million in 2022
Loans and merchant cash advances receivable, net, current, at year end, USD millions, 2022 to 2025
Shopify Capital by year, USD millions: Receivables
Net loans and merchant cash advances receivable reached $1,784 million at the end of 2025, up from $580 million at the end of 2022.
Showing: Measure: Receivables. Reset
Shopify Capital in 2025, by measure
- Receivables
- $1,784MNet loans and merchant cash advances receivable reached $1,784 million at the end of 2025, up from $580 million at the end of 2022.
- Advances purchased
- $4,200MShopify purchased $4,200 million of merchant cash advances and loans in 2025, up from $512 million in 2022; the 10-K rounds 2024 and 2025 to a tenth of a billion.
- Interest and fee income
- $258MInterest and fee income on Capital loans and advances was $258 million in 2025, up from $147 million in 2023; the dataset holds no 2022 figure.
- Net loans and merchant cash advances receivable at year end, as Shopify reports them; Shopify reports the whole net balance as a current asset.
- Implied yield in the data table is interest and fee income over the average of opening and closing receivables, computed by Deploi; it is indicative only and not an APR.
Source: Shopify Inc. Form 10-K for 2024 and 2025, audited financial statements for 2022 and 2023 filed with Form 40-F, and SEC EDGAR XBRL data. Read on .
About this dataset
The dataset gives Shopify Capital's merchant cash advances and loans purchased in the year, the year-end net current receivable and the interest and fee income, for 2022 to 2025 in USD millions. The figures come from Shopify Inc.'s Form 10-K filings for fiscal 2024 and 2025, its audited financial statements for 2022 and 2023 filed with Form 40-F, and SEC EDGAR XBRL data, read on October 18, 2026. Deploi computes one value, the implied yield: interest and fee income divided by the average of the opening and closing net receivable.
- Version
- 1
- Coverage in time
- 2022 to 2025
- Coverage in space
- Worldwide (Shopify Capital, as reported in Shopify's consolidated financial statements)
- Last updated
- October 18, 2026
- License
- CC BY 4.0. Deploi's compilation is CC BY 4.0. The underlying figures belong to Shopify Inc. and are cited to its filings on SEC EDGAR.
Variables
The CSV header uses the column name.
| Column name | Label | Type | Unit | Meaning |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| rowKey | Year | string | Fiscal year, which ends December 31. | |
| purchasedUsdM | Advances and loans purchased | number | USD million | Merchant cash advances and loans Shopify purchased from its bank partner in the year, as its filings report them, in USD millions. |
| receivableNetCurrentUsdM | Receivable, net current | number | USD million | Loans and merchant cash advances receivable, net, current, at year end, in USD millions (XBRL NotesAndLoansReceivableNetCurrent). |
| interestFeeIncomeUsdM | Interest and fee income | number | USD million | Interest and fee income on loans and merchant cash advances, in USD millions (XBRL InterestAndFeeIncomeLoansAndLeases). |
| impliedYieldPct | Implied yield | number | % | Interest and fee income over the average of opening and closing net receivable, times 100, computed by Deploi; indicative, not an APR. |
The data
| Year | Advances and loans purchased (USD million) | Receivable, net current (USD million) | Interest and fee income (USD million) | Implied yield (%) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | 511.646 | 580.114 | Not stated | Not stated |
| 2023 | 1,966 | 816 | 147 | 21.058 |
| 2024 | 3,000 | 1,224 | 205 | 20.098 |
| 2025 | 4,200 | 1,784 | 258 | 17.154 |
Where each value comes from
Every value, the document it was read from, the exact place in it and the date it was read. Computed values show their formula.
Show all 14 traced values
| Row | Field | Value | Source | Where in the source | Read on | Method |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 | Advances and loans purchased | 511.646 USD million | Shopify Inc., audited consolidated financial statements for FY2022 (Exhibit to Form 40-F), filed 2023-02-16 | …the years ended December 31, 2022 and 2021, these purchases added up to $511,646 and $127,037, respectively, of merchant cash advances and loans to Shopify… | html | |
| 2022 | Receivable, net current | 580.114 USD million | Shopify Inc., audited consolidated financial statements for FY2022 (Exhibit to Form 40-F), filed 2023-02-16 | Merchant cash advances, loans and related receivables, net | 7 | | 580,114 | | 470,722 | html | |
| 2023 | Advances and loans purchased | 1,966 USD million | Shopify Inc., audited consolidated financial statements for FY2023 (Exhibit to Form 40-F), filed 2024-02-13 | In the years ended December 31, 2023 and 2022, these purchases added up to $1,966 and $512, respectively, of merchant cash advances and loans to Shopify… | html | |
| 2023 | Receivable, net current | 816 USD million | Shopify Inc., Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2025, filed 2026-02-11 | | Loans and merchant cash advances, net | 1,784 | | | 1,224 | | | 816 | | html | |
| 2023 | Interest and fee income | 147 USD million | SEC EDGAR XBRL companyfacts API, Shopify Inc. (CIK 0001594805) | {"start":"2023-01-01","end":"2023-12-31","val":147000000,"accn":"0001594805-25-000012","fy":2024,"fp":"FY","form":"10-K","filed":"2025-02-11","frame":"CY2023"} | text | |
| 2024 | Advances and loans purchased | 3,000 USD million | Shopify Inc., Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2024, filed 2025-02-11 | In the year ended December 31, 2024, the Company purchased $3.0 billion of merchant cash advances and loans to Shopify merchants (December 31, 2023 - $2.0… | html | |
| 2024 | Receivable, net current | 1,224 USD million | Shopify Inc., Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2024, filed 2025-02-11 | | Loans and merchant cash advances, net | 1,224 | | | 816 | | | 580 | | html | |
| 2024 | Interest and fee income | 205 USD million | SEC EDGAR XBRL companyfacts API, Shopify Inc. (CIK 0001594805) | {"start":"2024-01-01","end":"2024-12-31","val":205000000,"accn":"0001594805-25-000012","fy":2024,"fp":"FY","form":"10-K","filed":"2025-02-11"} | text | |
| 2025 | Advances and loans purchased | 4,200 USD million | Shopify Inc., Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2025, filed 2026-02-11 | In the year ended December 31, 2025, the Company purchased $4.2 billion of merchant cash advances and loans to Shopify merchants (December 31, 2024 - $3.0… | html | |
| 2025 | Receivable, net current | 1,784 USD million | Shopify Inc., Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2025, filed 2026-02-11 | | Loans and merchant cash advances, net | 1,784 | | | 1,224 | | | 816 | | html | |
| 2025 | Interest and fee income | 258 USD million | Shopify Inc., Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2025, filed 2026-02-11 | In the year ended December 31, 2025, the Company recognized revenue of $258 million related to interest and fees earned on the Company's lending services,… | html | |
| 2023 | Implied yield | 21.058452 % | Computed by Deploi | impliedYieldPct = interest and fee income / average of opening and closing net receivable x 100; inputs 2023.interestFeeIncomeUsdM = 147… | computed | |
| 2024 | Implied yield | 20.098039 % | Computed by Deploi | impliedYieldPct = interest and fee income / average of opening and closing net receivable x 100; inputs 2024.interestFeeIncomeUsdM = 205… | computed | |
| 2025 | Implied yield | 17.154255 % | Computed by Deploi | impliedYieldPct = interest and fee income / average of opening and closing net receivable x 100; inputs 2025.interestFeeIncomeUsdM = 258… | computed |
Methodology
Caveats: Shopify Capital: advances purchased, receivables and fee income, 2022 to 2025
- The receivable is loans and merchant cash advances receivable, net, at year end. Shopify reports the whole net balance as a current asset, so no non-current amount is left out.
- Purchases are the loans and merchant cash advances Shopify bought from its bank partner in each year, as each year's filing describes them, so the years compare; the fiscal 2024 Form 10-K rounds 2023's $1,966 million to $2.0 billion.
- The fiscal 2025 Form 10-K gives 2025 and 2024 purchases as $4.2 billion and $3.0 billion, rounded to a tenth of a billion. The table shows them as $4,200 million and $3,000 million, so growth computed from them carries that rounding.
- The implied yield is computed by Deploi and is indicative only. It is not an APR and not the price any merchant pays; it blends every advance and loan in Shopify's totals.
- The dataset holds no interest and fee income for 2022, so no 2022 implied yield is shown. The 2023 yield uses the 2022 year-end balance as its opening balance.
Deploi's charts and compilation are licensed CC BY 4.0. The underlying facts belong to their sources, which are named on every page. How Deploi Shopify Data works.
Sources
Tier A sources are primary documents: filings, official releases and official price pages. How sources are ranked.
- Tier AShopify Inc., Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2024, filed 2025-02-11
Shopify Inc. · HTML · Read on
- Tier AShopify Inc., Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2025, filed 2026-02-11
Shopify Inc. · HTML · Read on
- Tier AShopify Inc., audited consolidated financial statements for FY2022 (Exhibit to Form 40-F), filed 2023-02-16
Shopify Inc. · HTML · Read on
- Tier AShopify Inc., audited consolidated financial statements for FY2023 (Exhibit to Form 40-F), filed 2024-02-13
Shopify Inc. · HTML · Read on
- Tier ASEC EDGAR XBRL companyfacts API, Shopify Inc. (CIK 0001594805)
U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR) · TEXT · Read on
Cite and reuse
Deploi's charts and compilation are licensed CC BY 4.0. The underlying facts belong to their sources, which are named on every page.
APA
Deploi. (2026). Shopify Capital: advances purchased, receivables and fee income, 2022 to 2025 (Version 1) [Data set]. https://deploi.ca/shopify/data/datasets/shopify-capital Retrieved October 18, 2026.
BibTeX
@misc{deploi_shopify_capital_2026,
author = {{Deploi}},
title = {Shopify Capital: advances purchased, receivables and fee income, 2022 to 2025},
year = {2026},
version = {1},
url = {https://deploi.ca/shopify/data/datasets/shopify-capital},
note = {Accessed 2026-10-18}
}Downloads
- Data: Shopify Capital: advances purchased, receivables and fee income, 2022 to 2025 CSV
Changes
- · Shopify Capital: advances purchased, receivables and fee income, 2022 to 2025
First release. 4 rows, 4 fields read from 5 sources; each value agreed by extractor and verifier or ruled by the judge.