Which checkout surfaces can you customize on each Shopify plan?
Below Plus, apps and APIs reach 2 of 8 checkout surfaces, the thank-you and order status pages, though every plan from Basic can brand all checkout pages. Updated October 19, 2026.
By Martin DejnickiUpdated
Short answer
Below Plus, apps and APIs reach 2 of 8 checkout surfaces, the thank-you and order status pages, according to Shopify's Help Center and Shopify.dev documentation, read October 18, 2026, in counts computed by Deploi. Every plan from Basic can still brand all checkout pages. On Plus they reach all 8, adding apps and checkout UI extensions in the information, shipping and payment steps, the Checkout Branding API and full Functions access.
Below Plus, apps and APIs reach 2 of 8 checkout surfaces, though every plan can brand all checkout pages
Checkout surfaces Shopify documents as open to apps, checkout UI extensions, Functions or the Checkout Branding API, by plan group, October 2026
- Marks the surfaces Shopify's docs open to apps, checkout UI extensions, Functions or the Checkout Branding API for each plan group; the counts of 2 and 8 are computed by Deploi.
- Every plan from Basic can brand all checkout pages, including the information, shipping and payment steps, with a logo, colors, fonts and a background in the checkout and accounts editor; branding is not what the matrix records.
- Functions in checkout are partly open below Plus: stores on any plan can use public App Store apps that contain functions, and only Plus stores can use custom apps with Function APIs; the partial cell is not counted.
- Apps on the thank-you and order status pages reached Basic, Shopify and Advanced on May 21, 2024, after Plus on November 7, 2023.
- Post-purchase pages are left out of the matrix because the dataset states no plan gating for them; the dataset keeps the row.
Source: Shopify Help Center and Shopify.dev documentation on checkout, checkout UI extensions, Functions and post-purchase offers. Counts computed by Deploi. Read on .
What this means for your decision
- Planning checkout changes below Plus? Every plan from Basic can brand all checkout pages in the checkout and accounts editor, information, shipping and payment steps included, according to Shopify's Help Center read October 18, 2026. Apps reach 2 of the 8 surfaces they reach on Plus, the thank-you and order status pages, so work confined to branding or to those 2 pages does not need Plus.
- Adding apps to the information, shipping or payment steps? Apps and checkout UI extensions in those steps, and access to the Checkout Branding API, are Plus-only. Budget the Plus subscription only for work that needs them; the term page has the price.
- Relying on Shopify Functions? Stores on any plan can use public App Store apps that contain functions, but only Plus stores can use custom apps with Function APIs, and some capabilities are Plus-only. Deploi does not count the partial cell, so the count of 2 is a floor; check the specific Function on Shopify.dev before you scope a custom app.
- Migrating off checkout.liquid? The retirement did not change which plans can customize a surface. The one documented gating change is May 21, 2024, when apps on the thank-you and order status pages reached Basic, Shopify and Advanced, so rebuilding those pages with apps works on every plan from Basic. The deprecation page tracks Shopify's deadlines.
- Scoping checkout work? Deploi builds ecommerce sites. Contact Deploi before you commit to a plan for checkout changes.
How many checkout surfaces can apps and APIs reach on each plan group?
Apps and APIs can customize 2 checkout surfaces on non-Plus plans and 8 on Plus, according to Shopify's Help Center and Shopify.dev documentation on checkout, read October 18, 2026. Deploi counts a surface only when the documentation marks it customizable with apps, checkout UI extensions, Functions or the Checkout Branding API. Partial and unstated cells are not counted.
The 8 surfaces for Plus are apps in the information, shipping and payment steps and apps on the thank-you and order status pages. They also include the Checkout Branding API, checkout UI extensions in the steps and Functions in checkout. The count leaves out branding in the checkout and accounts editor, which every plan from Basic can use on all checkout pages.
What can every plan customize in checkout?
Every plan from Basic can brand all checkout pages in the checkout and accounts editor, with a logo, colors, fonts and a background, and can add apps to the thank-you and order status pages, according to Shopify's Help Center read October 18, 2026. Those 2 pages are the only surfaces open to apps below Plus in the dataset.
The editor's branding reaches the information, shipping and payment steps too. Apps reach those steps only on Plus.
Which checkout customizations need Shopify Plus?
5 checkout surfaces need Shopify Plus: apps in the information, shipping and payment steps, the Checkout Branding API and checkout UI extensions in the steps, according to Shopify's Help Center and Shopify.dev documentation, read October 18, 2026. Each is marked no for the Basic to Advanced plans and yes for Plus. Branding those steps in the editor does not need Plus.
Custom apps built with Shopify Functions and checkout UI extensions for the three steps are also on the Plus-only features page.
Can non-Plus plans use Functions in checkout?
Stores on any plan can use public App Store apps that contain Shopify Functions, but only Plus stores can use custom apps with Function APIs, according to Shopify.dev's documentation on Functions, read October 18, 2026. Some Functions capabilities are Plus-only too. The dataset marks the non-Plus cell partial, so Deploi counts Functions for Plus only.
The partial cell is not counted for the non-Plus plans. The count of 2 for those plans is therefore a floor for surfaces with any customization.
Why are post-purchase pages not counted?
Post-purchase pages are not counted because the dataset states no plan gating for them, according to Shopify.dev's documentation on post-purchase product offers, read October 18, 2026. Deploi leaves the plan cells empty and does not infer a value. The counts of 2 and 8 therefore cover the 8 other surfaces.
If Shopify documents the gating later, the post-purchase row can be filled and the counts updated.
Did retiring checkout.liquid change which plans can customize checkout?
Retiring checkout.liquid did not change plan gating. The one documented gating change came on May 21, 2024, when apps on the thank-you and order status pages reached Basic, Shopify and Advanced, after Plus on November 7, 2023, according to Shopify's Changelog read October 18, 2026. Deploi found no dated gating change for the other surfaces.
The same holds for the Checkout Branding API. Shopify replaced it with the Checkout And Accounts Configuration API, which is also Plus-only, according to its developer changelog.
The data
Each chart on this page is drawn from the numbers below. Units are in the column headers.
| Checkout surface | Basic to Advanced | Plus | Note | Changed on |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apps in the information step | No | Yes | Every plan from Basic can brand this step in the checkout and accounts editor; apps that customize it need Plus. | |
| Apps in the shipping step | No | Yes | Every plan from Basic can brand this step in the checkout and accounts editor; apps that customize it need Plus. | |
| Apps in the payment step | No | Yes | Every plan from Basic can brand this step in the checkout and accounts editor; apps that customize it need Plus. | |
| Apps on the thank-you page | Yes | Yes | Apps on this page reached Basic, Shopify and Advanced on May 21, 2024, after Plus on November 7, 2023. | May 21, 2024 |
| Apps on the order status page | Yes | Yes | Apps on this page reached Basic, Shopify and Advanced on May 21, 2024, after Plus on November 7, 2023. | May 21, 2024 |
| Checkout UI extensions in steps | No | Yes | Covers extensions in the information, shipping and payment steps. | |
| Functions in checkout | Partly | Yes | Every plan can use public App Store apps that contain functions; custom apps with Function APIs need Plus. | |
| Checkout Branding API | No | Yes | Branding in the checkout and accounts editor is on every plan from Basic; the API needs Plus. | |
| Post-purchase | Not stated | Not stated | The dataset states no plan gating for post-purchase pages. |
Download Checkout surfaces open to apps and APIs on non-Plus plans and on Plus as CSV · All 8 columns on the dataset page
Methodology
Reading the chart: Below Plus, apps and APIs reach 2 of 8 checkout surfaces, though every plan can brand all checkout pages
- Marks the surfaces Shopify's docs open to apps, checkout UI extensions, Functions or the Checkout Branding API for each plan group; the counts of 2 and 8 are computed by Deploi.
- Every plan from Basic can brand all checkout pages, including the information, shipping and payment steps, with a logo, colors, fonts and a background in the checkout and accounts editor; branding is not what the matrix records.
- Functions in checkout are partly open below Plus: stores on any plan can use public App Store apps that contain functions, and only Plus stores can use custom apps with Function APIs; the partial cell is not counted.
- Apps on the thank-you and order status pages reached Basic, Shopify and Advanced on May 21, 2024, after Plus on November 7, 2023.
- Post-purchase pages are left out of the matrix because the dataset states no plan gating for them; the dataset keeps the row.
Caveats: Checkout surfaces open to apps and APIs on non-Plus plans and on Plus
- Every plan from Basic can use the checkout and accounts editor to brand all checkout pages, including the information, shipping and payment steps, with a logo, colors, fonts and a background, according to Shopify's Help Center. The yes and no cells record customization with apps, checkout UI extensions, Shopify Functions and the Checkout Branding API.
- The counts include only surfaces marked yes for the plan group. Partial, no and empty cells are not counted. Functions in checkout is partial on non-Plus plans: stores on any plan can use public App Store apps that contain functions, and only Plus stores can use custom apps with Shopify Function APIs.
- Post-purchase pages have empty plan cells because the dataset states no plan gating for them.
- The changed-on column dates the one documented change in which plan group can customize a surface: on May 21, 2024 the checkout and accounts editor, with apps for the thank-you and order status pages, reached Basic, Shopify and Advanced, after extensibility on those pages reached Plus on November 7, 2023. Deploi found no dated gating change for the other surfaces; the retirement of checkout.liquid retired an older method.
- Counts are computed by Deploi from the surface rows and are not figures Shopify publishes.
Deploi's charts and compilation are licensed CC BY 4.0. The underlying facts belong to their sources, which are named on every page. How Deploi Shopify Data works.
Sources
Tier A sources are primary documents: filings, official releases and official price pages. How sources are ranked.
- Tier AShopify Changelog RSS feed (changelog.shopify.com), posts 2018-08 to 2026-10
Shopify Inc. · TEXT · Read on
- Tier AShopify Help Center: Customizing and editing your checkout and accounts pages (Basic vs Plus comparison)
Shopify Inc. · HTML · Read on
- Tier AShopify.dev: Apps in checkout
Shopify Inc. · HTML · Read on
- Tier AShopify.dev changelog feed (Atom), retrieved 2026-10-18
Shopify Inc. · TEXT · Read on
- Tier AShopify.dev: Checkout UI extensions API (plan availability by checkout step)
Shopify Inc. · HTML · Read on
- Tier AShopify.dev: About Shopify Functions
Shopify Inc. · HTML · Read on
- Tier AShopify.dev: About product offers (post-purchase)
Shopify Inc. · HTML · Read on
Cite and reuse
Deploi's charts and compilation are licensed CC BY 4.0. The underlying facts belong to their sources, which are named on every page.
APA
Deploi. (2026). Which checkout surfaces can you customize on each Shopify plan? [Web page]. https://deploi.ca/shopify/data/shopify-checkout-customization-by-plan Retrieved October 19, 2026.
BibTeX
@misc{deploi_shopify_checkout_customization_by_plan_2026,
author = {{Deploi}},
title = {Which checkout surfaces can you customize on each Shopify plan?},
year = {2026},
url = {https://deploi.ca/shopify/data/shopify-checkout-customization-by-plan},
note = {Accessed 2026-10-19}
}Embed this chart
Embed code
<iframe src="https://deploi.ca/embed/shopify/data/checkout-surfaces-by-plan" title="Below Plus, apps and APIs reach 2 of 8 checkout surfaces, though every plan can brand all checkout pages" loading="lazy" style="width:100%;height:620px;border:0"></iframe> <p style="font:12px/1.4 Arial,sans-serif;margin:4px 0 0">Source: <a href="https://deploi.ca/shopify/data/shopify-checkout-customization-by-plan#chart-checkout-surfaces-by-plan">Deploi, Below Plus, apps and APIs reach 2 of 8 checkout surfaces, though every plan can brand all checkout pages</a></p>
Keep the credit line under the embed. It is the license condition.
Questions
Can I customize Shopify checkout without Plus?
Yes, in part. On Basic or higher you can brand every checkout page in the checkout and accounts editor and add apps to the thank-you and order status pages, according to Shopify's Help Center read October 18, 2026. Apps in the information, shipping and payment steps, and the Checkout Branding API, need Plus.
Are checkout UI extensions Plus-only?
Checkout UI extensions in the information, shipping and payment steps are Plus-only, according to Shopify.dev's checkout UI extensions documentation read October 18, 2026. Apps can customize the thank-you and order status pages on the non-Plus plans too.
Can non-Plus plans use Shopify Functions in checkout?
Partly. Stores on any plan can use public App Store apps that contain functions, but only Plus stores can use custom apps with Shopify Function APIs, according to Shopify.dev's documentation read October 18, 2026. The dataset marks the non-Plus cell partial, so Deploi counts Functions for Plus only.
Is the Checkout Branding API available on Advanced?
No. Shopify's Help Center comparison of checkout features by plan, read October 18, 2026, marks access to the Checkout Branding API as unavailable on the Basic to Advanced plans and available on Plus. Branding in the checkout and accounts editor, with a logo, colors, fonts and a background, is available on every plan from Basic.
How does Deploi count customizable checkout surfaces?
Deploi counts a surface only when Shopify's documentation read October 18, 2026 marks it yes for the plan group, for customization with apps, checkout UI extensions, Functions or the Checkout Branding API. Partial and unstated cells are not counted, so non-Plus plans have 2 surfaces and Plus has 8. Branding in the checkout editor is not counted.
More on Costs and fees
- Does an in-house developer cost less than buying agency hours?
A Canadian software developer's median wage equals 83 agency hours a month at C$100 an hour, before employer costs. Updated October 19, 2026.
- How much more does a third-party payment gateway cost on Shopify?
A third-party gateway at Stripe's published US rate costs $1,000 a month more than Shopify Payments on Basic and $425 more on Plus at US$50,000 of monthly sales. Updated October 19, 2026.
- What does a $100 sale cost on Shopify compared with Etsy and Amazon?
A US$100 sale pays $3.20 in per-order fees on Shopify Basic, $9.95 on Etsy and $15.00 on Amazon with a Professional selling plan. Updated October 19, 2026.
- What does a store cost per month on Shopify, Squarespace, BigCommerce and WooCommerce?
At US$50,000 a month in sales, Squarespace Advanced costs $1,499 all-in and Shopify Grow $1,579, with WooCommerce at $1,600 before hosting. Updated October 19, 2026.
- What is the effective Shopify Payments card rate on a small order?
Shopify Payments online standard card fees take 5.9% of a $10 order on Basic and 3.2% of a $100 order in the United States, because of the 30-cent fixed fee. Updated October 19, 2026.
- Which Shopify Plus features are now available on other plans?
Of the 8 features Deploi tracked, Shopify documents 2 that moved from Plus-only to other plans between 2021 and 2026, Shopify Flow in 2022 and B2B in 2026, and 5 that are still Plus-only; the eighth, POS Pro locations, is a quantity. Updated October 19, 2026.
Changes
- · Checkout surfaces open to apps and APIs on non-Plus plans and on Plus
First release. Nine surface rows, each with a note on what its plan cells leave out (surfaceNote), and two count rows, read from Shopify's documentation on October 18, 2026.